Quote
0

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Papa Loves Mambo.”

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

This prompt made me happy, because I have some very fond memories of listening to music with my mother growing up. We had one of those huge, tall stereos that were popular in the ’80s…and it was on pretty much 24/7. It definitely helped fuel my love of music…I have music playing almost all day in my home now, too. The only difference in my house growing up and our house now is the type of music…my mom was a country girl, she loved her horses and cowboy boots, and her taste in music was the same. It was almost like Alabama, Kenny Chesney, Diamond Rio, Tim McGraw, Alan Jackson, and Garth Brooks were helping to raise us all. She fell in love with Brad Paisley when he came out, but I was a lot older by then and don’t remember listening to him growing up.

I’m more into pop and rock personally. I don’t hate country music (I never could) but I don’t really like it and you won’t really hear me listening to it on my own. When I’m with my mom we listen to it and I enjoy it then, but then when I come home it’s back to Katy Perry, The Fray, Goo Goo Dolls, Maroon 5, Taylor Swift, Paramore, Coldplay, and Echosmith, among many others. I loved to listen to the German pop artists when we were in Germany, but sadly, I don’t know any of their names. I should probably go look up some German music, though, because it would be great to hear them again. And there’s a lot of Japanese pop music that I love, especially the Vocaloids (which also has its own show and plenty of fan art). Now my husband is obsessed with classical music so I’m learning that I enjoy listening to a lot of those composers also (and he calls my music garbage…meh). I think the only genre I don’t like is rap, although my dad and I both like a lot of Eminem’s songs.

So I guess since I grew up listening to country I should love it more, but I just don’t for some reason. But I still loved growing up in a house that was always filled with music. I even joined the band in eighth grade and learned how to play the flute, and presently I’d love to learn to play the violin, that is a goal of mine. That might be a good goal to start on this year!

Leave a Reply

